Speaking of being born


BirthdayHat_MainToday I enter my 42nd year of being on this planet. And while my daughter tells me not to worry –  ‘it’s just one more year closer to death’ – I can’t help but wonder what this year has in store.

After all, I was working full time, living five minutes from the nearest mall, and still eating McDonalds food  this time last year!! Holy cow! A lot has changed in a year. 

But, I wouldn’t have it any other way. According to Malcolm Gladwell and Everett Rogers, I am an early adopter; sometimes even an innovator. I love change. I feel lightened and inspired by it. I get excited by the possible new opportunities it brings.

And while I hate the physical act of moving and many times get sidetracked by something new before I finish a current project, (SQUIRREL!) I still would rather be flexible and adaptable in my always shifting world than stuck in a rut that weighs me down.

This year, I have vowed to live more intentionally. To inspire my family to give more to other people and to think about each other first. Not to be so flattered at being asked to join a movement, a team, an event, that we don’t think about the impact it will have on our ability to enjoy our everyday lives. To consider how what we do or say impacts not only this family, but our world and the future we leave behind.

I can’t wait to see where we are this time next year. I am so excited about what this year holds. I am hopeful that no matter what comes my way, I will be able to find the good and strive for purpose and meaning. And I will have fun!

Here’s to 42!

4 thoughts on “Speaking of being born

Leave a Reply

