What I really want for Mother’s Day


imagesAll week, I have been reading the hilarious blog posts, Facebook memes and more sharing what moms really want for Mother’s Day. And while I agree, it would be fantastic to have one day when I could go to the bathroom without anyone on the other side of the door asking me where they put their shoes, I also know that isn’t really what I want for Mother’s Day.

As I sit here, the only member of my household not sleeping in today and getting ready to prepare our usual Sunday morning bacon and pancake feast (after feeding the dog, cats, guinea pig, chickens, goat and pigs, of course), I realize that it has been an incredible year. 

When I decided to take this journey of becoming a stay-at-home mom/homeschool teacher/consultant/farm wife, I knew this would be life changing. These are roles I never anticipated doing when I became a mom. But I am so glad they are part of my job now as mom of this household.

I have had my Mother’s Day everyday this past year. Not all 365 have been like a Hallmark movie; in fact, most of them haven’t. There have been times when I wanted to pull my hair out! But every day has had moments of love, acceptance, patience and true joy. Moments that I was missing when I was working full time and the kids were in day care.

This year has shown me that my kids are pretty amazing little people. And while they push every one of my buttons, they make me smile simply by being who they are.

So on this Mother’s Day, I accept my role as MOM. I will make my own breakfast, and clean up everyone’s messes and answer the questions through the door of the bathroom. Because what I really want for Mother’s Day is a house filled with laughter, hugs, kisses and joy. And maybe some time to knit and a glass of wine 😉

Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

