Immortal values


hourglass-icon-1

 

WordPress has a fun daily writing prompt email that I love. Even if I don’t ‘put pen to paper’ with every prompt, there are a few that are just fun and do get me thinking. Today’s prompt, though, got my attention.

You’ve imbibed a special potion that makes you immortal. Now that you’ve got forever, what changes will you make in your life? How will you live life differently, knowing you’ll always be around to be accountable for your actions?

What a cool question, right? Because when you think of being immortal, you immediately get excited about all of the things you could do. The places you could go; the wealth you could amass; the love you could share. But who ever worries about being accountable for your actions forever?

So, I wonder, what would I change? What would I do differently?

At the start of this year, David and I decided to work on showing our kids how to live more intentionally. We wanted to teach them the importance of giving back with whatever you have.

So far we have taken toys to Dayton Childrens Hospital at Christmas, cooked a meal for families at Ronald McDonald House, knitted scarves for the families of the Connecticut shooting tragedy and donated food to several charities. It’s been eye opening and meaningful for all of us.

These are actions I would be proud of forever, if given the chance. No matter whether I am immortal, I hope that I will continue to find ways to provide for those struggling in this world, because we’ve all been there. And we’ve all needed to lean on others at times. Getting through tough times is always easier when you know that there are others out there to help.

Being immortal would just give me lots of time to do more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

