Mommas, don’t let your babies grow up to play football


540168_10151692332208503_1304740786_n 404385_10151692331898503_277978728_nAs I sit in my car watching my boys in their first ever football camp, I am writing this post and crying. When did they get big enough to play football?

One of the hardest lessons for a parent is figuring out when to step back and let them stand on their own. Naturally, you want to shield and protect them. But there comes a time when they have to stand up for themselves. I just wish that time was when they were 30!

With help from their dad, I made those boys! Carried them full-term, nursed them, taught them to walk and talk, scared away their nighttime monsters, bought them their first cowboy boots, and gave them an appreciation for great GF pizza.

Now I’m supposed to sit by and watch some other kid pound them into the ground then get up and laugh about it?!? What kind of parent am I?

I’ll tell you what I’m not. I am not like these crazy football parents. I don’t relish each hit and scream about what they are doing wrong on the field. I can’t imagine ever getting into it with another parent or coach about what is supposed to be a game. Something fun for the kids. Teaches them good life lessons.

That said, already today, my twins have been called “small”, “half pint”, “little guys”, and “short stuff”. Really?

First of all, they are well within the normal ranges for height and weight.

And secondly, they get outside and work or exercise on a regular basis and have always eaten a diet that includes at least four servings of fruits and vegetables a day. They don’t get McDonalds or very much candy and there’s almost never ice cream in our house.

My kids are the size yours are supposed to be. So back off or I am going to be all up in your face…

Uh oh…my inner football mom is showing.

Leave a Reply

