Splash pad here I come


jack splashAs I sat watching kids play in the Children’s Discovery Gardens’ waterfalls on Tuesday, I couldn’t help but wonder…

What happens to us?

These kids were having the time of their lives just standing in the sprays. They had no issues with getting completely soaked in some pretty cold water just for the sheer joy of it. The looks on their faces were priceless.

There was a time when that would’ve been me. Soaked to the bone just because it was fun. Not worried about my hair or makeup or shoes. Just enjoying the moment. It was way too long ago.

Watching our kids experience that level happiness is one of the joys of parenting. It reminds us that there are moments that we just need to live, to experience, to laugh. Those are the moments that make it all worth it.

So I made a vow to experience more of that kind of joy before the summer’s over. I may not plunge into a freezing cold fountain any time soon, but I will find those opportunities to just have some pure childlike fun.

Leave a Reply

