Putting down roots


Family Fall 2012Some say you can never go home. Bon Jovi wants to know, “Who says you can’t go home?” Motley Crue believes that there will always be a ‘home, sweet home.’

I for sure never thought I’d be living somewhere like my hometown. Or that I would like being here so much.

I grew up in Eaton, Ohio, a really small town with lots of farmers, farm kids and pigs – after all it is the pork capital of Preble County. I was never the queen of the Pork Festival but I do still know a few.

I didn’t live on a farm. I was a ‘city’ girl. I did participate in one incidence of cow tipping, a few hundred miles of cruising and every Friday night football game and after party dance.

I was in the drama club, choir and was the first female drum major of the marching band. Needless to say, I wasn’t popular with the in crowd. I couldn’t wait to get out and see what college had to offer.

I wanted bright lights, clubs to dance in and lots of live music. That summer after graduation couldn’t go by fast enough!

And I did get away for a while. And I had some great times. Then I did what you do- get married, buy a house, have kids.

And somehow almost 20 years later end up nearly right back where I started. In a small farming community. Except this time around, I am kind of the pork queen and the chicken lady and the goat mama.

How did this happen?? šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

