When I grow up


imagesAs I was listening to the boys explain to their sister that there was such a job as video game tester and that this was the career path for them, I tried to remember what I wanted to be when I grew up.

The only thing that came to mind was…wait for it… a Dallas Cowboy Cheerleader.

Yep. This clumsy (my nickname was Grace), not really athletic, hated to be outside any day over 75 degrees girl thought that the best job in the world would be as a professional cheerleader in one of the hottest cities in the US. Makes sense.

I mean, as dreams go, it’s not a horrible one. There are girls groomed from a young age to be cheerleaders. And in Dallas, it is a truly legitimate profession.

The uniforms were cool – 2 words: COWBOY BOOTS!! And it was the late 70’s, so the hair and makeup were big and bold; something I could relate to. They were all so beautiful. Who wouldn’t want to be them?

I like to joke that I stopped growing up and started growing out and, alas, had to find a new career path. Have you ever seen Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders: Making the Team on CMT?? No way I would’ve made it through. (And I don’t remember those shorts being that tiny!!)

Besides, I probably never had a shot being from Ohio and all! But how cool would it have been?!?! I guess I’ll just keep cheering on my favorite team from the sidelines.

Hurray for the return of football season!

This post was prompted by The Daily Prompt…

Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star

 

 

Leave a Reply

