Farm Philosophy: Stop obsessing


Meet Lester.

Lester

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lester is our rooster. As far as we can tell, he is a White Leghorn. He was sweet as can be when we brought him home, but not so much any more.

He has gotten more aggressive as he has gotten bigger particularly with the kids. Leghorns, I have read, can be that way. Protective and territorial and also quite happy to hang with his ladies. Let’s just say Lester wasn’t his first name on the farm, but it certainly seems to fit him well!

We haven’t replaced Lester yet because, well, because in some ways, his behavior is really what you want in a rooster. I want him to protect his hens. I want him to scare away predators. I just want him to also let me feed him!

Lester is suffering from a slight case of obsessive-compulsive disorder. He can’t stop worrying about his hens long enough to realize that I am actually there to help him do his job. I bring them food and water. I make sure that they are all locked in at night when most of the predators attack. I make sure that their pen and coop are well-maintained. I make sure he has a varied and large flock of hens to choose from for his ‘other’ needs.

I think we can all be guilty of this sometimes. Too much focus on what we perceive to be the problem in front of us to be able to see that there is a solution or help available. We just need to take a step back and look for it or ask for it.

Recently, I have watched my hubs go crazy trying to get this whole farm going. And while he had taken on every chore, available job and worry, he had stopped short of asking for the help he needed. He didn’t initially recognize that we have a great network of folks ready and willing to jump in and help. They enjoy the work, love getting to spend to time with our family and only ask for things like eggs or half a cow in return. We can do that!

As for Lester, for now we have worked out an arrangement that keeps the kids away and my interaction with him limited. It is working. And the fox that got two of our hens early on has been staying away. But Lester needs to understand that when his obsession and aggression get to be too much, I have a pot in my kitchen with his name on it.

Leave a Reply

