What a day! (AKA: How do you spell crotchy?)


image

Today I logged another frantically-paced day.

  • Up by 6:30 to feed the 35 farm animals including pigs, cows, chickens, goats and kittens
  • Shower by 7:30
  • Breakfast for the kids by 8:30, which took a while since I hadn’t been to the grocery in over a week. Began to wonder if you could make the ground corn we feed the animals into some semblance of a hot cereal for the kids without milk or sugar, but maybe a dash of honey and hot water?? Settled on caramel rice cakes with peanut butter, sliced apples and hot chocolate. Not bad, and certainly better than the ground corn mush idea.
  • FB and email check-in by 9 sending notes to magazine publisher, cute baby pics, leftover client project issues, cute pet pics, and writing blog post ideas
  • Off to SAA to teach class by 9:30 with a pit stop at the bank
  • Home by 1
  • Homeschooling by 1:15
  • Hair pulling to get boys to sit for a 15-minute math lesson by 1:30 (mine, not theirs, though I considered it!)
  • Finish lessons by 4:30
  • Dinner by 5:30, again a scramble as I still haven’t stopped by the grocery, but pulled together a quick meal thanks to great pantry prep
  • Football practice by 6
  • Library to return overdue books and movies by 6:20
  • Grocery by 6:30 then back to practice by 7:30 (That’s right! I did an entire weeks worth of grocery shopping, saved $40 in coupons and was back at practice in an hour!)
  • Home by 8:15

At this point, I am pooped. The only think making me happy is the great book on CD that I have listened to all day in my treks across town – “The Weird Sisters” by Eleanor Brown. And, as it always goes, I pull into the driveway at a pivotal point. I want to finish the chapter, and I’m right at the end of it. So, I send the boys in for showers, while I sit in the car to hear it out.

About 10 minutes later, out comes Jack to complain that I haven’t started the shower for him yet. When I turn to respond, I realize he is COMPLETELY NAKED (seeing a theme here?…my boys hate clothes!) He is standing in the driveway with his hands over his ‘private parts’ yelling at me to get out of the car. He then leans in to give me a hug and proceeds to rub his hands down my arms, yelling,

“I just rubbed you with my crotchy hands!!” And laughs as he runs back into the house.

Maybe instead of listening to books, I should be writing them? You can’t make this stuff up!

Leave a Reply

