VTA Series: Behind the Scenes with Makenna-POTTED POTTER!!


This post is part of the VTA Series. I am writing pre-show highlights and reviews of shows presented by the Victoria Theatre Association in their 2013-2014 season. For this post, I turned over the reigns to the biggest Harry Potter fan I know – my daughter, Makenna.

IMG_6928I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan. I have read the books, listened to the books on CD and seen the movies. Hundreds. Of. Times.

So when the Victoria Theatre Association asked me if I wanted to talk to one of the actual creators of the hit Potted Potter, which is a sensational hit all around the country, of course I said YES! And it was an amazing experience!

Here’s what I learned.

Potted Potter is a 70-minute recap of all of the Harry Potter books onstage with a live quidditch match and is performed by the two creators. The idea from the show came about nearly seven years ago when Dan Clarkson said a friend of his was working for a PR company in London. The friend wanted to come up with something for the launch of the sixth Harry Potter book.

“So we came up with doing all of the first five books in a fifteen minute comedy sketch that would entertain the crowd as they were waiting in the queue at midnight,” shared Dan.

From there the show extended to an hour premiering in Scotland at the Edinburgh Festival, and Potted Potter was born!

When I asked if they were big fans of the books, Dan said that he was a HUGE Harry Potter fan, just like me!

“I used to read my brother bed time stories. I remember getting really into the HP stories. So much that when my brother fell asleep, I would keep reading to my self! I still to this day think that he has not heard the first chapter to the first and second books!” Dan said.

My favorite HP character is Tonks but I was surprised when Dan shared his favorite – Gilderoy Lockart! He said he thinks that he likes him so much because he imagines that’s exactly the type of wizard he would be. Poor guy!

I also wanted to know if Dan or his partner had ever met Hermione, Ron or Harry? Dan said he once met a tall Scottish man with a beard. I think that counts. Well, no maybe not….

Dan says touring the world with the show is a wonderful experience. “When you start off making skits in your parents house and end up on Broadway, that is quite a change!”

I told Dan I would love to see them make another show like The Hunger Games or The Hobbit. Dan said he’s not sure what’s next, but admits you would never catch him doing a show with a 900-year-old vampire who sparkles like a fairy in the sun! “It will take a lot more that that to knock a wizard off of the top spot.”

VTA presents the off-Broadway hit show, POTTED POTTER: A HARRY POTTER PARODY, Oct. 12 at 3 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. & 13 at 3 p.m. in the historic Victoria Theatre. POTTED POTTER has made audiences aged six to Dumbledore (who is very old indeed) roar with laughter all over the world and is perfect for the entire family. Tickets are on sale now at the Ticket Center Stage Box Office, by phone at 937-228-3630, 888-228-3630 or online at www.ticketcenterstage.com.

11 thoughts on “VTA Series: Behind the Scenes with Makenna-POTTED POTTER!!

  1. do you know if people where Harry Potter Robes or costumes to the show? Nice Review – my son is 8 and is VERY Excited to see the show!

Leave a Reply

