My fascination with horror


petsematary3851I suppose it all started at the tender age of 11 with “IT” and from there it was “The Stand”, “Carrie” and “Kujo”. No matter what Stephen King wrote, I was hooked on horror books. I read from cover to cover only stopping for classes at school.

And then I discovered horror films. “Nightmare on Elm Street”, “Rosemary’s Baby” and “The Exorcist” were just few of my favorites. And even though I sometimes watched them through my fingers, I couldn’t get enough.

The defining moment in my fascination with horror books came when I was 13. I was staying at my dad’s house. I had just started reading “Pet Sematary” also by Mr. King. I couldn’t put it down. So, there I was at 3 a.m. sitting under the light of the bar in my dad’s apartment completely engrossed in the book. I had just gotten to the part where the family cat, after being buried in the Pet Sematary, comes back. For those of you who have read the book, you understand that while the Creed family is happy to have Church back, all is not well with their furry friend.

Those of you who have read the book will also appreciate my absolute terror at having my dad’s very fluffy, very much alive cat jump in my lap right at that moment. I haven’t screamed that loud or that hysterically since. But once everything settled down again, I happily picked up the book and read until I finished it at 6 a.m.

And for those of you that haven’t read the book or seen the movie, I leave you with the trailer from the movie.

So what do you think? Horror books and movies – love ’em or hate ’em?

Leave a Reply

