My number one go-to guy


1391806_10202384864648628_39616816_nIt was a typical afternoon in our sleepy small town. I was home from my first year of college, working at the local bank and serving as the accompanist for the high school choirs. I would walk to the school on my lunch hour and play my heart out.

This particular afternoon, it was raining. Not just a drizzle, but one of those heavy downpour storms that can leave you dripping wet for hours.

As I debated the two block walk, a voice from the past called to me to offer a ride. He was exactly the same as I remembered. Fast car, warm brown eyes and a smile that went right through me. Of course I said yes.

And that was it. The moment. Two blocks later I knew that he would be in my life, and I would be different because of it.

Fast forward 25 years

Even though he traded in his fast car for a tractor, he still makes my knees weak just with that slow smile that lights up his whole face when turned on full power.

With one scary car chase through the back roads and an out-of-control bonfire that left him in pretty bad shape, he let me know that life with him would never be boring.

The first time he left the TV on all day for our new puppy so she wouldn’t be lonely, he let me know that he would be an amazing father.

When he continued working in a job he hated, he made sure I knew that he would always provide for our family.

By reaching for me every night while he slept, he let me to know that he needed me even if he couldn’t always say it.

With encouraging words and unfailing support, I always knew he would be my rock.

By posting his first song online today, he has shown me that your dreams are never too old and it’s never to late to try.

For these reasons and so many more, he is the most important person in my life. I don’t know where I’d be without him, and I know that I wouldn’t be who I am.

I love you, David, and I am so proud of you! I can’t wait to download your new song.

This post was prompted by The Daily Prompt

Daily Prompt: My Number One

 

One thought on “My number one go-to guy

Leave a Reply

