VTA Series: Falling down the rabbit hole


image

I have been an avid reader since a very young age. Growing up, you could find me buried in a book more often than you’d find me playing outside. In fact, there were times when forced to go out to play that you would find me buried under a tree or behind a bush with a book to my nose.

Now that I have kids of my own, turning them into readers has been a much bigger challenge than I anticipated. There are so many cool distractions competing for their attention. 

I once read an interview with J.K. Rowling where she made the suggestion that, “If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book.”

I totally agree. Sometimes it just takes one really good page turner to get you hooked for life. For Makenna, it happened to be Ms. Rowling’s books that did it. For Jack, it was the Mystery Tree House Club. Dylan is still trying to find that book for him.

What I also love is rediscovering books of my childhood with them. A Wrinkle in Time, Little Women, Little House on the Prairie, To Kill a Mockingbird

and many more that I get to experience in a whole new way through my kids’ eyes.

One book that has come to have more significance with age is Alice in Wonderland. As a kid, I could never finish it. Alice’s indecisive nature and unwillingness to just go with the flow frustrated me.
Now the story makes more sense, and I find myself quoting it all the time. I can’t wait to share the story with the kids this weekend at the Victoria – especially as it will be told with puppets from the Zoot Puppet Theatre group. Here’s hoping they are too entranced with the puppets to be irritated with Alice!

Victoria Theatre Association announces the 2013-2014 PNC Family Series presentation of ALICE IN WONDERLAND, Feb. 1at 1 p.m. and 3:30 p.m. at the historic Victoria Theatre. Tickets are on sale now at the Ticket Center Stage Box Office, via phone 937-228-3630, toll free at 888-228-3630, or online at www.ticketcenterstage.com.

Leave a Reply

