VTA Series: Hip shakin’ fun


elvis hawaiiI remember many a Sunday afternoon during my childhood spent watching Elvis movies. I loved them. Jailhouse Rock, Viva Las Vega, G.I. Blues, Love Me Tender, Kissing Cousins and my ultimate favorite – Blue Hawaii – The vivid sets,, the campy scripts, the pretty people and, of course, Elvis’ hip shaking, guitar playing songs were hypnotic. I watched them every time they were on.

We are a musical family. Music plays throughout our house all the time. David plays guitar and writes music. The kids sing and dance and make up their own words to songs daily. We even have a recording studio out in David’s office.

There is no doubt that the surge and growth of music in the 50’s had an impact on the music we listen to today. Elvis, Chuck Berry, Jerry Lee Lewis, Little Richard, James Brown and so many more artists of that time changed the music scene and paved the way for the hair bands I grew up with.

That’s why I am so excited to see MEMPHIS at the Schuster this weekend. MEMPHIS takes place in the smoky halls and underground clubs of the segregated 50’s, where a young white DJ named Huey Calhoun fell in love with everything he shouldn’t:  rock and roll and an electrifying black singer.  MEMPHIS is an original story about the cultural revolution that erupted when his vision met her voice, and the music changed forever. 

You had me at rock and roll. I can’t wait to see this show! As Elvis once said.

“Rock and roll music, if you like it, if you feel it, you can’t help but move to it. That’s what happens to me. I can’t help it.”

So get your tickets and look for me moving in my seat at MEMPHIS!

Victoria Theatre Association presents the 2013-2014 Premier Health Broadway Series production of MEMPHIS, the 2010 Tony® Award Winner for Best Musical,  opens at the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center on  Tuesday, April 8 for a limited engagement! Tickets are on sale now at the Ticket Center Stage Box Office, by phone at 937- 228-3630, 888-228-3630 and online at www.ticketcenterstage.com.

Leave a Reply

