VTA Series: A World of Adventure


NatGeo liveI can remember being excited about going to my grandparent’s house as a kid. I loved getting to see them and other family. I enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. But what I really liked most was sneaking off into a quiet corner to read their copies of National Geographic.

I loved pouring over the photos of exotic places that I could barely even imagine existed. I would get wrapped up in the stories of kids surviving amazing circumstances. In many ways they seemed so different and yet in others they were a lot like me. The idea of so much adventure and incredible beauty in the world affected my outlook on life outside my little home town.

And the animals – oh the animals. To see them so up close and personal was nothing like going to the zoo where you might catch a glance of a sleeping lion. These animals were alive and in your face and beautiful.

I am thankful for photographers like Paul Nicklen and Jodi Cobb for bringing those worlds to life for me; a small town girl in Ohio. I can’t wait to hear and see more from Cobb at the Victoria on Monday. Thank you to the Victoria for the opportunity this series has given me to introduce these worlds to my kids. This series is one of my favorites, and I am anxiously awaiting next year’s line up.

If you don’t have them yet, get your tickets now for Monday’s show. I promise you won’t regret it!

JODI COBB was one of the first photographers to cross China when it reopened to the West, and the first photographer to enter the hidden lives of women of Saudi Arabia for a National Geographic landmark article in 1987. In this presentation, audiences get an inside look into the life of JODI COBB and how she maintains balance and joy of creating a meaningful life. Cobb shares stories about her journey to more than 60 countries – celebrating the best of the human spirit and spotlighting some of its worst aspects. Her presentation of UNCOVERING HIDDEN WORLDS accompanied by it’s touching stories excite the audience and provides them an insider’s look into her life and world.

Adventure Photographer JODI COBB headlines the third event of the 2013-2014 FIFTH THIRD BANK NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC LIVE SERIES on April 21st  at 7 p.m. in the historic Victoria Theatre. This thrilling event is presented by Victoria Theatre Association and Five Rivers MetroParks. Tickets are available at the Ticket Center Stage Box Office, by phone at 937-228-3630, 888-228-3630 or online at www.ticketcenterstage.com.

Leave a Reply

