VTA Series: Jazz hands and other moves I can’t do


bring itI am proud to say that I can still do a cartwheel. In fact, given the right time of day and depending on what other activities I have had to do earlier that day, I can even still perform a round-off into the straddles. Neither is pretty and both may require a hand to get up, but I can still accomplish them.

But when I tried out for cheerleading in the 8th grade, the ability to do cartwheels and round-offs weren’t going to automatically land you a spot on the squad. I learned very quickly I didn’t possess the one attribute that nearly guarantees you a cute pleated skirt and constant high pony tail – overwhelming cheeriness.

I can be happy and upbeat with the best of them. I can yell and scream across a crazy gym or crowd-filled field like nobody’s business. I can even memorize synchronized steps, proudly fist pump and perform some pretty fancy jazz hands.

I can also be sarcastic, grumpy, bossy and bitchy. Those are not admirable qualities to most of the cheerleaders I know. In fact, most of the cheerleaders I know are so peppy and upbeat that you sometimes wonder if they ever get sad! I mean who is that perky all the time?

So while my dreams of cheering on the team from the sideline were short lived, I learned that my place was cheering from the stands with my bandmates. There were even times that I yelled and screamed louder than those cheery girls.

In some ways, I can see how I have become a cheerleader in my own right. I mean, PR people are cheerleaders of a sort for the brands, products and companies we represent. We are the public-facing entity, that frontline, that Rah-Rah that makes sure our audiences get pumped about our clients. That said, I have never done spirit fingers at a media event. Hmmm…maybe I should.

I don’t remember our cheer quads ever being as crazy fanatical as the squads of Bring It On, but I am totally pumped to see the musical based on the movie at the Schuster next week. I promise, I won’t be turning any cartwheels in the aisles.

Bitingly relevant and sprinkled with sass, BRING IT ON: THE MUSICAL, inspired by the Bring It On film, takes the audience on a high-flying journey filled with the complexities of friendship, jealousy, betrayal and forgiveness. BRING IT ON: THE MUSICAL tells the story of the challenges and unexpected bonds formed through the thrill of extreme competition.

Victoria Theatre Association is proud to present Bring It On: The Musical coming to The Benjamin and Marion Schuster Performing Arts Center on April 22 and 23. Tickets are on sale now at the Ticket Center Stage Box Office, via phone 937-228-3630, toll free at 888-228-3630, or online at http://www.ticketcenterstage.com.

Leave a Reply

