Good mornings


lake morningThere are two things in my life that I know I get from my dad – a love of being near water and an unnatural ability to pop out of bed early with a clear head no matter what time I got there.

Many a vacation morning at our family lake house he would pop his head into my room to see if I would want to take a boat ride. “Let’s check out the sunrise over the water,” he would suggest. Usually already awake, I would grab a sweat shirt and follow him quietly out the door.

Walking down the long hill to the dock, my shoes and toes would always get wet and slippery from the dew. I would help untie the boat and get us pushed off, and he would slowly take us across the smooth water.

Then it would happen. The sun would start to peek over the mountain tops setting the sky on fire and the calm waters reflecting all those colors back to heaven. Those moments cutting through the water, wind in my hair, and sun in my eyes are some of my favorites.

They were a rare bit of peace before all of the other boats stirred up the waves and the families came out to swim, ski and tube. I loved those early morning moments – like a secret between us while the rest of the house was sleeping.

For me, mornings are nearly always a treat. While my household is still sleeping, I have a chance to score quiet time to think and plan my day. If I want, I can get in a few chores without interruption. I can get ahead on a project or write or knit or just sit on my desk with coffee watching the sun push the moon out of the sky. It’s my absolute favorite time of day.

Thanks, Dad.

 

This post was inspired by The Daily Post.

The Daily Post

Because the Night

Are you a night owl or are you the early bird? What’s your most productive time of day? When do you do your best work?

Leave a Reply

Kate's Crossing

Musings on life, relationships, and the "why" of it all.

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

thelandofsmith.wordpress.com/

Mom. Blogger. Homeschooler. Photographer. Dreamer.

lauraagudelo272

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

FightIBD.com

Together, we FIGHT for a CURE!

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Knotty Knitter

not your traditional knitter

Stitches & Marginalia

Books, Knitting and Other Good Things

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

At the Barre with Miss Erin

An Honest Discussion About All Things Dance.

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

