VTA Series: You had me at strum


image

Hubby looking very musician-like with one of our twins.

Many years ago, there was a boy who played a mean air guitar to a Billy Idol song in our high school’s air band contest. Later he was brave enough to go on the field during a halftime show to play along with the marching band.

But it wasn’t until years later that he turned on his Marshall amp, grabbed his electric blue Fender and strummed me a song that I knew I was in love.

Ever since that night, I knew he was the one for me. His music gave me goosebumps, made me cry and would stick in my head for days. To this day, when he asks me to listen to a new song, I am amazed at his talent. The incredibly tender balads, hard core rock and unbelievably technical riffs that are running around his head are astounding. I am always impressed with how he pulls it all together.

In other words, my hubby rocks.

You know who else rocks? Elvis, Carl Perkins, Jerry Lee Lewis and Johnny Cash – members of the esteemed Million Dollar Quartet playing at the Schuster Center starting next week.

You can’t beat a show with music from these four. Well, unless they added some music from my hubs.

I will be rocking out at Tuesday night’s opening. Plan on joining me!

The national tour of the Broadway musical MILLION DOLLAR QUARTET, inspired by the electrifying true story, will make its DAYTON premiere June 17-22 at The Benjamin and Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center as part of Victoria Theatre Association’s Premier Health Broadway Series. Tickets are on sale now at Ticket Center Stage, by calling 937-228-3630, 888-228-3630 or online at http://www.ticketcenterstage.com.

Leave a Reply

