We are family


image

The happy hosts who take terrible selfies. 😉

Ah, family reunions.  The staple of summer get togethers.

As kids, you couldn’t wait to see all your cousins. As teens – BORING!! – and as adults, we never seem to find the time.

image

My cousins John, Lori and Christina.

We hosted my dad’s family for a reunion over the weekend. It was the first time we had scheduled one in years. There had been the occasional baby shower or graduation party, but a full-on reunion? Not in some time.

image

My step grandmother Esta, and Aunts Carolyn and Becky.

While the preparations as hosts was monumental, the payoff was incredibly rewarding. having everyone come together with home-cooked food and games and reminiscing reminded me of days gone by. Days when my cousins and I were the ones running through the yard, playing badminton and volleyball and wondering about what in the world the adults had to talk about!?  Suddenly we were the ones sitting in the chairs sharing stories and catching up. What happened to us?!

image

My cousin Ashlee and her daughter Braylee. Too cute!

There were new babies to pass and play with and kids that used to sit in my lap that are now taller than me, and did I mention all of that fantastic home cooking? So good.

image

My brother Mike, his girlfriend Mindy and my nephew Connor.

It was a wonderful day, and it left me wondering why we don’t make time for family any more. All the scheduling and prepping aside, having that time together is precious and important. It gives you roots. Reminds you who you are and where you came from. Connects you to the values and beliefs that built your foundation.

image

My cousin Scottie and his girlfriend Danielle and her son Noah. Isn’t he adorable!?

I say let’s start planning for the next one!

image

My brother Nathan, his wife Cindy and my niece Teagan. Glad to have them back together and here! (Welcome home, Nathan!)

image

My cousin Justin, who is very tall, and his fiancé Taylor, who is not so much. 😉

image

My uncle John and Aunt Carolyn. He was in the process of telling me that he will never be on Facebook. Oops!

image

My Uncle Jim and Aunt Becky.

image

My cousin Chris’s incredible family – Justin, Taylor, Ashlee, Braylee (sacked out in the stroller), Brian and Jarod.

image

My cousin Dustin and his girlfriend Jessica.

image

It wouldn’t be a Lowman reunion without corn hole.

image

And volleyball.

image
image

Leave a Reply

