The night I ate a bowl of Watermelon salsa


image

I am full. Not just full like ‘Whew that was good! I’m going to skip dessert.’ But like ‘Oh my gosh if I eat another bite I just might explode!’

I blame it on the Watermelon Salsa I made for dinner tonight. Well, that and the half bag of organic tortilla chips. It was SOOOO good.

The whole time I was shoving down chip after chip I knew I would regret it. But I seriously couldn’t help myself. It was refreshing and flavorful and just so good that I thought I better share the recipe.

It started with a recipe in this week’s coupon book from Kroger. But I expanded and played with it until, well, you know.

Enjoy!

WATERMELON SALSA

2 cups watermelon, diced
1 cup seedless cucumber, diced
3 tbsp sweet red onion, finely minced (I bumped this up from the Kroger recipe.)
1 tbsp each cilantro and mint, finely chopped
2 tbsp lime juice (again, a bit more than originally called for)
1/2 tsp hot sauce (more to taste)
1/2 tsp salt

Combine all ingredients, mixing gently to ensure all are well incorporated. Chill for an hour.

The Kroger recipe stopped there, but I found that I couldn’t get it to stay on a chip. Just a bit too chunky.  So I took about a cup of it, blended it in my food processor, and added it back to the chunky part. It gave it a more salsa like consistency.

I will be making this lots all summer!

Leave a Reply

