I’m an ENFP. What are you?


I recently took a ‘probing’ personality test on Facebook. You know the one. It asks you 10 random questions and then magically seems to peg your personality.

I know that these quizzes are for fun and half expected some funny answer to come up, like no wonder you didn’t date much in high school.

Imagine my surprise when the test got it right. I have taken several more ‘scientific’ tests in the past. There was one based on colors, another on trees, one that asked questions about my lipstick color, and my favorite which was based on animals. I’m a fox by the way.  All of them agree with these results. According to Myers-Briggs, I am an ENFP – Extroverted, iNtuitive, Feeling, Percieving – AKA An Inspirer.

Here is the basic definition:

ENFPs are warm, enthusiastic people, typically very bright and full of potential. They live in the world of possibilities, and can become very passionate and excited about things. Their enthusiasm lends them the ability to inspire and motivate others, more so than we see in other types. They can talk their way in or out of anything. They love life, seeing it as a special gift, and strive to make the most out of it.

ENFPs have an unusually broad range of skills and talents. They are good at most things which interest them. Project-oriented, they may go through several different careers during their lifetime. To onlookers, the ENFP may seem directionless and without purpose, but ENFPs are actually quite consistent, in that they have a strong sense of values which they live with throughout their lives. An ENFP needs to feel that they are living their lives as their true Self, walking in step with what they believe is right. They see meaning in everything, and are on a continuous quest to adapt their lives and values to achieve inner peace.

I agree with most of this in its application to me. Although, if I could really talk my way out of anything, I wouldn’t  have gotten that ridiculous speeding ticket last year! But that’s a story for another day.

I also believe that this is just a guess at who I am and I always have the potential to change. Certainly, I can chalk up the many of the character traits that drive my husband crazy to simply being an ENFP, right?

No focus – that’s just my ability to see the possibility in everything!
Able to motivate, but lack of my own motivation – Too many available choices!
Unwillingness to drudge through minutia – But look at all my big ideas?!
Volunteer too much and give away too much of my time – My values, my values!

Ah well, in the end we choose our own actions and path in life. And while I do believe that every day is precious and should be lived to its fullest, I understand that the small things matter too. I will make him much happier if I would just remember to call the plumber and proof the farm website.

Ho hum.

Leave a Reply

