Share the love


I think I have a new fan. 

Anyone who knows me knows that the saying, “If I’m sitting, I’m knitting” definitely applies to me.

So as we sat at a family gathering last Christmas, catching up and eating too much, I started a new knitting project –  a beautiful silver, high-neck cowl project. It looks very much like the top of a sweater.

As I sat talking and stitching away, I noticed that one of my cousin’s sons was quietly watching me from his mom’s lap. He seemed fascinated at how two sticks and some string were making this soft scarf.

Finally, he worked up the courage to ask what I was doing. I explained that it was called knitting and that it was how lots of clothes got made. He looked at the yarn and needles in my hands, then at the pattern, then back at my hands.

“You are making a real sweater?”

“Well, I am going to try to make part of one.”

“Looks hard.”

After a few more minutes of looking on, he had another question for me.

“Do you think you could make me something?”

We decided on a scarf out of a camo-looking yarn for him to wear duck hunting with his dad.

I finally finished the project a few weeks ago and sent it off to him. I was thrilled to get this note from him today.

image

I’m glad you liked it, Kole!

Leave a Reply

